Topic

Bivy idea

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Bivy idea

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Jane McMichen

@jmcmichen

Locale: Maine, DownEast Coast

Hi guys and gals. I have limited skills but can barter with a local seamstress, so here goes. Please suggest improvements in design as needed. Keep in mind I'm still new to MYOG.

I'll try a basic rectangle 66" x 30" bivy, 1.1 oz silnylon floor, breathable 1.1 nylon ripstop top (can't afford cuben yet), lightweight zipper entry at head, and "expandable" noseeum mesh on the sides (sewn into the top part of the bivy). Ok, what do I mean by expandable?

Mesh sewn into a window on each side that has this shape:
    Bivy window shape

There would be loops inside the bivy just above each window and light plastic buttons below the window, so in good weather I can have an open mesh window and in bad weather batten down the hatches. I thought of velcro first but figured buttons wouldn't wear on my sleeping bag as much or collect "lint".

I realize this window setup will be more likely to let in blowing rain, etc., even when closed, but I'm a fair weather camper at this point looking to make the move to tarp & bivy instead of a tent. I will use it with a polycro ground cloth.

I'm guesstimating this bivy will come in at <10 oz (don't know how much a 26" #3 zipper weighs). Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

John Haley

@quoddy

Locale: New York/Vermont Border

You might look into using Momentum for the top. It's only 0.9oz/sq yd, is quite breathable, but also has a very good water repellant surface. Thru hiker has is for $13.59 a yard in your choice of colors if the price isn't a deterrent. Since I began using a bivy with my tarp I've stopped using a ground cloth since that is what the waterproof bottom of the bivy takes care of.