Topic

Are 20 mile days possible?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Are 20 mile days possible?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Barry Westbrook

@barrybiceps

I'm planning on a 240 mile trip in two weeks from the southern tip of the AT at Springer Mountain, Georgia to Davenport Gap in North Carolina.

I've got a lot of backpacking experience and have been training for the last few months for this trip.

Is it possible to complete this trip this fast or should I reconsider? And what should the max weight in my pack for this kind of distance? I've never done a trip this ambitious.

b s
    BPL Member

@smyth

At the start of an '05 thru, I crossed Davenport Gap on my 21st day. Consider that:

a) I had not done any major training;
    b) my pack was not yet too light (~35 lbs.);
    c) I started from Amicalola Falls SP (extra ~9 mi.); and
    d) I took several very short days when resupplying and due to some heavy snow in the Smokies.

I'd say it's possible and that it's worth a shot. I'm assuming you'll have some type of shuttle or pick-up scheduled?? If after a week or so you clearly see you're not going to make it, you could always adjust your pace and change your out point to Fontana Dam or Newfound Gap.

Your max weight will vary depending on how often you plan to resupply. If you're willing to hitch, there's pretty regular resupply points through that stretch if I remember correctly.

Good luck. Enjoy your hike.

Barry Westbrook

@barrybiceps

Cool. Thanks for the comment, that's encouraging to hear.

Mark Verber
    BPL Member

@verber

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

There are certainly plenty of people who have done that section averaging 20 miles / day. Physical prep is a good start. The biggest issue for most people is mental.