Topic

Tent design

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Tent design

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Troy Ammons
    BPL Member

@tammons

Getting totally fed up.

I designed a few tents back in the late 70's. I am an architect so I am always sketching etc. I could just design and dig in and build, but I thought some feedback might be helpful.

Figured out a few designs way back then. Built a tepee style tent. Thought it was dumb at the time and abandoned it but it did sort of work.

Now people are selling tepee style tarp setups. Maybe it was not so dumb after all.

I have an old Eureka tent that I have used for way too long but its too heavy and worn out.

I started searching for new UL tents to go with my other UL gear I have been acumulating although it seems like I am sending back 75% of what I order. THat said the newer materials are really nice.

Bought a Eureka Solitare for super cheap, like $35. Snapped a pole, but I think I will get new alum featherweights for it. I can get it close to 2#, but its almost a bivy bag.

Bought a Eureka spitfire, took it back.
    A bit heavy.

I like the black diamond single wall tents but they are supposedly not 100% water proof.

One thing I like is a top shelf very waterproof tent that really works.

I have been caught in torential rain for days in the mountains, and I know how bad it can get.

Got a gogo, thinking gees, less than 2 pounds, I will put it under a cuben tarp for some extra room, well I got it and dont see how it could ever breath enough to limit condensation and it weighed over 2#. I bottomed out and my bag was wall to wall in the foot area. Way tighter than the Eureka. Sending it back.

Tried a Eureka velox 1. Pretty darn nice tent but a tad heavy. Also checked out a velox 3 and for 5# that tent was superb and huge.