Topic

Windshirt Advice Request

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Windshirt Advice Request

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    David Mcevoy

@dave_mac68

Locale: Virginia Beach

I am about to purchase a windshirt, but I am torn between Golite's Ether and Wisp and Montbell's Parka and Jacket. I see that Golite seems to be popular on the gera swap, but does anyone have experience with these offerings and what would you suggest and why? Thank you in advance.

John sorry for the confusion, I should have said, 'Montbell UL Wind Parka: http://www.montbell.us/products/disp.php?cat_id=61&p_id=2303183

Dana S
    BPL Member

@naman919

Locale: Richmond, Virginia

David,

I'm an Ether fan. Also, I'm a fan of hoods in general so that was the selling point over the Wisp.

I have no experience with Montbell's Parka/Jacket but after washing my Ether to get the DWR off as much as possible, it's been fine and breathes very well.

I love the weight, under 4 oz for a large, and it's practically nothing in your pack (though that's true for all windshirts i reckon).

Also, i like the full zip of the Ether vs the Wisp.

Just my two cents, but check out other ideas too! Montane has some sweet Featherlite series windshirts. I tried to get a Smock but it didn't fit quite right.

– Dana

J B
    BPL Member

@johannb

Locale: Europe

No experience with the GoLite, but I had a Mont-Bell U.L. Windshirt and that one was nice.

slavenya slavenya
    BPL Member

@slavenya

Locale: Israel

Did you have a chance to look at Montane SpeedLight?

Everyone seem to love it.

EndoftheTrail
    BPL Member

@ben2world-2

No direct experience, but isn't the MontBell UL windshirt non-breathable? I vaguely recall Ryan Jordan calling it "sweat fabric"?

John Haley

@quoddy

Locale: New York/Vermont Border