Topic

insulation/wind-rain layer

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists insulation/wind-rain layer

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Alice Klassen
    BPL Member

@aliceklassen

Locale: Central California

Before buying these layers for use mostly in areas like the High Sierra Loop, Jenny Lake, etc. June-August. I'd like some final confirmation that I'm understanding what I'll need. I'm a 60+ thin woman who sleeps cold. I have a REI 20-degree bag and Exped downmat 7 pad. I don't want to go so minimal on clothing that I'm in danger.

I have a Smartwool microweight long-sleeve zip top (and cami) and REI Sahara long-sleeve shirt. I'm thinking I'll get a Montbell UL Thermawrap jacket (insulation) and Golite Virga jacket (wind/rain). I'd actually prefer the Thermawrap vest if it would be enough. I'm aware of many other choices…let me know if something else might be better.

BOTTOMS
    I have North Face utility pants for hiking and Smartwool microweight under layer that can be worn at night. I'm willing to have wet legs in the event of rain. Would this be enough or do I need another pair of pants? If so, what?

For days I've been reading BPL threads and pack lists and checking out clothing descriptions and I'm eager to get these decisions wisely finalized. Thanks so much.

Dan Cunningham

@mn-backpacker

Locale: Land of 12,000 Loons

First off, I think this post was plenty appropriate where it was in the gear forum.

Regarding your puffy insulation, you may want to look at Mont Bell's UL Down Inner Jacket/Parka instead of the Thermawrap. It's much lighter and warmer according to Richard Nisley's thread on understanding garment warmth. My men's large is only 8.25 ounces.