Topic

Ridgerest in winter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Ridgerest in winter

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Max R

@mantra

Locale: Québec, Canada

Hi all,

Im going to the Adirondacks this week-end, and im unsure about which sleeping pad to use. Im gonna sleep one night and the temperature is annonced in the lower 10s. I have the Ridgerest (R value 2.6) and the POE Ether Thermo 6 (R value ???) sleeping pads.

Could I bring only the Ridgerest ? Would I freeze my ass doing so ?

What about bringing only the Ether Thermo 6 ?

Since the Ridgerest weight less id like to bring that one, but I don't want to end up not sleeping cause of coldness too…

Thanks for the help !

Joe Geib
    BPL Member

@joegeib

Locale: Delaware & Lehigh Valleys

I have no experience with the Ether Thermo 6, but I know that bringing JUST the Ridgerest is a mistake.

Either both, or if the Ether Thermo 6 is good enough, just that.

Unknown abc

@edude

I disagree with you there, Joe.

Last Winter, I went with my Troop to Farrugut State Park for the annual Klondike Derby. I was a newb to winter camping then, and all I took in the form of a sleeping pad was a worn out CCF pad. I was fine.

This year I took a new CCF pad + a CCF torso sized pad to use as a sit pad & boost comfort and warmth. It worked out fine.

The CCF pads I speak of above were all cheapie Walmart pads.

I do not recommend taking any Thermarests, or inflatable pads. DANGEROUS.

I would recommend you take 2 Ridgerests if you are unsure about it.

-Evan

Misfit Mystic

@cooldrip

Locale: "Grand Canyon of the East"

Hi Max, what experience do you have with your Ether Thermo? What temps have you used it at, and what was your experience at these temps? This will provide a good reference for your upcoming trip.