Topic

New 8lb Shenandoah/AT Winter Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists New 8lb Shenandoah/AT Winter Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Justin Marney
    BPL Member

@gotascii

Locale: Shenandoah

I posted a pretty crappy looking list a while back and I've had some time to test stuff out on several trips this winter. I also got a hold of a postal scale and some new gear. Here is a SNP/AT winter list with a 8lb base pack weight that has proven to be comfortable and easy to use (I'm pretty much a complete noob to a lot of this stuff: alcohol stoves, tarp, bivy, lightweight, etc).

Update: It was suggested that not everyone knows what "Shenandoah Winter" means meteorologically. Here is a brief description of the weather and my approach.

Avg Temps (F): 25-45
    Edge Temps (F): 10, 60+
    Nights: 3-5
    Avg Distance/Day: 10-12mi

Weather:
    SNP winters, as well as winters on the AT in general, can best be described as the temperature band that creates cold, wet, precipitation. At the very least, 2 or 3 times a month SNP sees a wintry mix, occasionally lasting for days at a time. Usually all this water will then freeze on everything, including Skyline Drive. Much like Virginia's roller-coaster-like weather, it will inevitably be 60deg the following day.

I try to avoid aforementioned rainy periods and backpack on weekends where heavy precipitation is not in the forecast. Although, this list is based on being prepared to handle a night of steady rain or snow fall.

SNP/AT Winter Gear List

Mike Klinefelter
    Spectator

@mjkline

Locale: Southern California