Topic

tarp-tent camping

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Justin Chaussee

@judach

Locale: Earth

This may be a dumb question…

I have always used solo tent style shelters for camping. I currently employ a eureka spitfire 1 tent. Recently, I have been really trying to get my pack weight down, especially for my summer backpacking set up and I have been looking at the tarp tent style shelters such as the msr twing and the integral designs tarp tent. I have never used one of these shelters before and I was wondering how it protects you from the rain or the morning dew. Wouldn't your sleeping bag get soaked? Even if it protects you from the falling rain the dry ground under you is going to soak up the water from the wet ground, right? I know, it sounds like a dumb question and a lot of people will probably laugh, but I am interested in these super light shelters. I just don't want to ruin my sleeping bag in the process… Any info on how people use these tarp tents would be appreciated. Let me know how you set up your sleeping rig.

Oh, I forgot to mention, one of my concerns is how big I am. I have a very large/muscular frame of 6'3, 315lbs and I use a big agnes lost ranger down sleeping bag size long with the matching air pad. Is there a specific tarp tent that I should be looking at that is better suited for larger people? Thanks.

Joe Westing

@pedro87

No worries Justin, there are no dumb questions.

first off, what is the integral designs tarp tent? Do you mean the silshelter?

second, the msr twing is a straight-up tarp, not a tarp tent. if you are interested in a tarp tent, check out tarptent.com, sixmoondesigns.com, and some others.