Topic

Beer Can Stove Questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Beer Can Stove Questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Dennis Hiorns

@hanson

Locale: Michigan

Hello all,

I just built my first beer can stove and it seems to work well (although, I've never used one before this). It brought 16oz of tap water to a roiling boil in 6 minutes in 25-30 degree weather, then burned another 3 minutes with 1 oz of Heet. It weighs .25 oz, and the windscreen/pot support is another .5 oz.

It seems this is fine for boiling water, but what if we catch a fish or two? Has anyone cooked (rather than boiled water) with an alcohol stove? Particularly a beer can stove?

This is the one I built…
    http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/make_your_own_gear_open_jet_alcohol_stove.html

Thanks for your comments/suggestions…

Denis Hazlewood
    BPL Member

@redleader

Locale: Northern California

One of the easiest methods of cooking fish is to poach them. I cut the fish into sections that will fit in my pot and use only a little water. You must keep gently "stirring" them about to cook them properly.

I haven't used an alcohol stove to do this but you might try it. I don't really think that alcohol stoves are meant to do much more than boil water. They require a very efficient wind screen to work effectively.

Kyle Purcell

@dufus934

Locale: North Texas

I don't see why this wouldn't work. As long as you didn't need much time to cook it. Sounds like you would have about 10 min of cook time with the 1 oz of fuel. That should be enough time to get it cooked. Of course, you could always give it a try at home before you do it on the trail.

Denis Hazlewood
    BPL Member

@redleader

How much alcohol will your stove hold?

Dennis Hiorns

@hanson