Topic

Help with GPS/Maps decision

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Help with GPS/Maps decision

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Bill Adams

@twilliger

I have never used a GPS before, but am getting more interested in taking the plunge – actually have some $ right now.

question: The etrex HCx models seem affordable, but the base maps are useless – and after acquiring maps – the cost is right up there. Is it better to go big with a colorado, oregon or triton? Are these units more usable out of the box?

all thoughts appreciated

Bill

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

Hi Bill

The eTrex HCx units are pretty good. However, can I be a bit reactionary and say that nothing beats a good topo map and a compass? (If you already do this, great.)

Cheers

Charles Maguire

@hikelite

Locale: Virginia

Bill I have to ditto Roger. GPS do break, batteries wear out, foilage handicaps and can prevent reception and a GPS without a map is kinda silly anyway.

Chuck

Michael Davis

@mad777

Locale: South Florida

Bill, I agree with Roger 100%. Any GPS is a machine and machines can fail and, according to Murphy's Law, your GPS will only fail when you are lost :-(

However, I have a GPS and love it! I really like the idea of researching a trip and uploading it to the GPS before I go and, I like the idea of downloading the trip after I return, especially if I've taken a really cool detour! The GPS allows me to keep a computerized record of my past and future trips. Also, upon my return, I load my trips into Google Earth Plus so I can see it in 3D and even do a fly-thru!

I guess this type of thing may not appeal to all but it will certainly satisfy any geek streak that one may have!