Topic

Your Lowest Temperature with a 40F/4C Bag

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Your Lowest Temperature with a 40F/4C Bag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Tony Wong
    BPL Member

@valshar

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

I have a 40F Degree Marmot Atom bag and I am curious to see how cold of a temperature that I can reasonably use it at.

What was the lowest temperature that you were able to comfortably use your 40F/4C Sleeping bag at?

Please let me know the following:

1. Sleeping bag you used
    2. Sleeping pad(s) you used
    3. Shelter you were in
    4. Clothing you wore to bed

For myself I have the following:

1. Marmot 40F/4C Sleeping Bag (1 lb)
    2. GG Torso Pad & Thinlight full length pad
    3. MLD eVent Soul Side Zip Bivy
    4. BPL Merino Wool Long Johns & Long Sleeve shirt, REI wicking shirt, OR wind shirt, Montbell Thermawrap Jacket, REI convertable pants, light fleece hat, light gloves.

Thanks for your input….curious to see what people have achieved.

-Tony

Chad Miller

@chadnsc

Locale: Duluth, Minnesota

Well lets see. . .

40 degree quilt from Jack’s R Better
    prolight 3 short sleeping pad
    midweight ploypro long top and bottom
    fleece hat
    hiking socks

. . .and surprise, surprise the bag was good to 39-42 degrees.

Matt Lutz

@citystuckhiker

Locale: Midwest

Here's a similar discussion in regard to a 30 degree bag, a Marmot Hydrogen.
    http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=15972

Jay Wilkerson
    BPL Member

@creachen

Locale: East Bay

Hey Tony, I have WM Linelite and it is rated to 45F= 15.1oz
    Thermarest 72 x 1.5 = 24oz
    GG Spinntwinn with MLD Serenity Shelter = 19.9oz