Topic

help with winter clothing & sleep system in the shenandoah mtns

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking help with winter clothing & sleep system in the shenandoah mtns

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Justin Marney
    BPL Member

@gotascii

Locale: Shenandoah

Hi bpl this is my first post and I am pretty much a complete noob to light weight backpacking and have basic hiking and camping skills gained from bi-yearly 2-3 day summer/fall backpacking trips in the Shenandoah. That said, I have spent the past two weeks lurking and reading as much as I possibly can (Articles read and detailed notes taken: WP/B fabric technology, Revisiting wind shirts, science and breathability of rain gear, high exertion moisture accum, clothing and sleep systems for hiking, winter backpacking comfort, as well as numerous reader gear reviews and posts and the book is on its way to my house right now). That said, there is nothing that beats experience and at some point I need to finalize a gear list and do some backyard winter camping & low-risk overnight backpacking trips. I really enjoy the outdoors in the winter, nothing beats a silent forest covered in snow :)

As far as I can tell by looking at wunderground and other weather sites, plus my limited experience with Shenandoah winters, the conditions I will be camping in include:

Temps: mid-teens – 40s
    Unforecasted rain and snow are both probable however I would avoid backpacking during forecasted snow or rain storms.