Topic

JMT shelter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) JMT shelter

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Jesse Glover

@hellbillylarry

Locale: southern appalachians

I am trying to decide on which shelter to use on my JMT hike next year, I will be hiking with someone so we will share the weight. We are planning on a late june start so bugs will likely be an issue. My options are:

Golite Cave 2, I love this tarp we have been using it for 8 years or so with no problems yet.

Golite HEX 3, I like it but I dont think it is an option due to weight.

2 person TarpTent, Not sure which one I have no experience with this shelter it belongs to my friend but the bug protection looks tempting.

So what would you go with? I am tempted to just bring the cave and deal with the bugs. Thats what I do in the Appalachians where the mosquitoes are not active at night but I have never been to the sierra so I have no idea what to expect.

Jeff Jeff
    BPL Member

@jeffjeff

I've backpacked year round in the Appalachians for 5 years and I never got a mosquito bite. The mosquitos in the Sierra are biblical. You will literally go insane without protection from them.

I would use the Tarptent. They are pretty much the perfect shelter for the Sierra. Ideally, you can camp in a dry windy place up high and the mosquitos won't be too bad at night and you can cowboy camp. I've never had a drop of rain at night in over 90 nights there. A mummy bag and a headnet may be okay in those cases. You will want full bug protection if you camp in a mosquito infested place though. They are pretty active through dusk and they wake you up like an alarm clock in the morning.