Topic

Absinthe on the trail?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Absinthe on the trail?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Brian UL

@maynard76

Locale: New England

This is my new favorite drink.
    I am just getting into it and I cant believe its not wildly popular in the US yet.
    If you didnt know Absinthe has been legal in the US since May 2007. There has also been a few distilleries in Europe rediscovering the art in the last 10 years or so.
    It seems to me that it would make a really great drink for the trail seeing as its very strong and only requires that you find some nice cold stream for la louche!

victoria maki
    BPL Member

@clt1953

Locale: northern minnesota

so brian. i've heard of it, but what does it taste like?

Nia Schmald
    BPL Member

@nschmald

Cool, I hadn't heard that this is legal again. I had a roommate in college who made some. This was many years ago of course.

I recall it tasting something like sweet dirt. I would assume the commercial distillery product tastes nothing like what I had.

I've been carrying bacardi 151 as my light weight alcoholic beverage/backup fuel. This could be a nice change.

Do you have a recommended distillery?

Eric Fitz

@pounce

Don't see this as anything different that any other alcohol. It is widely accepted that there is nothing else to the Absinthe "effect" other than alcohol. There is not enough thujone (or anything else) in distilled Absinthe to have any effect whatsoever.

Now, that being said taking grain alcohol is going to have a better effect to weight ratio than say a can of Coors from a 3.2 state ;) 80% ethanol at altitude would give you a kick.

Brian UL

@maynard76

Victoria, It tastes like a slightly minty licorice like drink.
    That would be because of the the anise and other herbs in it.