Topic

JMT gear list feedback please

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists JMT gear list feedback please

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Brian UL

@maynard76

Locale: New England

O.K this is my proposed gear list for my upcoming JMT thru late this month.
    Its heavier than I would like but, I also need to balance long term comforts with light weight. I have been using a tarp/bivy combo for a few years pretty exclusively but always had curiosity about the Gatewood cape. I went as light as I could go with the tarp/bivy thing using a tarp/bivy that was probably too small but workable. Then comparing that system to the gatewood cape/serenity shelter I saw that I could apparently increase my comfort and space with little weight penalty …so I am going with a Gatewood this trip but, I am just using some cheap mosquito netting instead of the serenity shelter for money reasons for now.
    Also, I am not sure if I should bring my Tigoat take-down pole (4oz.) instead of the CF pole that goes with the Gatewood? I dont use poles and this is just a single pole but, it would be useful for snow fields and stream crossings ect. but I dont know if their will be much of either on the JMT this time of year?
    Not on the list is the garcia bear canister I will rent at the permit office and what I will be wearing:
    ball cap, Patagonia wool 2 t-shirt, shorts, and bandanna.

MLD Zip 10.50
    Gatewood cape w/stakes 13.00
    CF pole for gatewood 1.50
    Modified MS Wisp30 long quilt 20.00
    BMW Torsolite 10.00
    Stansport bug shroud 6.00
    Polycro ground sheet 1.50
    MLD pocket sz. M .60

MB Alpinelight down XL 14.00
    Marmot 07' Ion XL 6.00
    MH balaclava 2.00
    EMS poly bottoms 5.50
    Manzella polartec glove liners 2.00
    ininji socks/wool socks 2.00

Snowpeak 600 2.80