Topic

Newbie seeking gear list options for Annapurna Circuit Trek

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Newbie seeking gear list options for Annapurna Circuit Trek

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Morgan Begic

@shamanana

Locale: North Adriatic Coast

Hi!
    My first post here and already begging for a gear list ;) I must say I read a whole bunch of posts here that come pretty close to what I am looking for (like that "himalaya" thread by raj nag) but…

I cannot say that I am new to traveling or to reducing the weight of my backpack and yet while reading the posts here I realized that I have absolutely no clue…

The reason I am concerned about this trek is the variety of weather conditions that are encountered on the way. Apparently, during September, October the days are pretty hot, nights are quite cold/freezing and on the passes (Thurong La…) windy, freezing and even snow is not unusual.
    I understand that sleeping in the "tea houses" on the way is how most people do it which is also my plan, but I am definitely getting a nice sleeping bag for just in case…

And, an important thing, no porter…just me and my backpack :)

I'd be happy to hear your opinions about gear options you can give me: materials, layers, brands, amounts… In my corner of the world certain brands are non existent (like Western Mountaineering sleeping bags I so wanted to buy :( so all the alternatives that come to your mind are more than welcome!

Total n00b, I know m(_._)m

Ashley Brown

@ashleyb

Hi Morgan, welcome to BPL.

I've trekked for a couple of months in the Everest region (walked in from Lukla), solo without a porter, about 8 years ago. It was that trip that got me interested in reducing my pack weight… I started out carrying 18kg on the trek and ditched about 5kg of gear along the way!