Topic

Newbie’s UL Gear List….Unconventional?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Newbie’s UL Gear List….Unconventional?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Nathanial Eady

@dagreekpacker

Locale: California's Central Coast

I'm just getting into UL backpacking and I just weighed out my current gear list. I barely make it under 10 lbs. but I keep a couple key luxuries (inflatable air mattress & H20 proof backpack). Love it or hate it? Sock it to me.

Nate's UL Gear List

(Helpfully edited by Roger Caffin to fix incorrectly sized image.)

Mike Clelland

@mikeclelland

Locale: The Tetons (via Idaho)

Okay – I scrutinized your list….

Two Big questions:
    Where are you gunna go camping? And what time of year?

Also – – – Are there lots of bugs? Is there dependable water? Do you need any kind of bug shelter?

1) Ditch the water filter. 15 ounces?!?!? Take Potable-Aqua of KLEAR-Water.

2) Hide the car keys and house keys in your car. Liberate yourself!

3) Toilet paper?!? You'll be fine without it.

here's a link:
    http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/toilet_paper_free.html

4) Two pair of underwear? You'll be fine with just one. My personal record is 35 days, without changing my undies!

5) 1 ounce bic lighter? THe tiny kind is only 1/2 ounce! The tiny (and cute) version is available at most gas stations.

6) You have SIX separate stuff sacks listed. You could easily go down to just one, for your food. You already have a waterproof pack, so you are all set!

7) Ditch the camel-back (9 oz). Replace it with a 1.2 ounce 1.5 liter platypus. Or, just a soda bottle. Do you REALLY need both a gator-aid bottle AND a Camel back?