Topic

gear list needed for himalaya backpacking

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists gear list needed for himalaya backpacking

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    raj nag

@rajnag21

Locale: Currently NY

Hi All,
    I'm pretty new to backpacking in general. I figured I could ask you knowledgeable folks about the kind of gear I would need for multi week backpacking trips in the himalayan and ladakh areas.
    I plan to make these trips regularly every year with groups of people that do such trips regularly.They use porters etc and are not concerned with weight.But I would prefer not having to hire someone to carry my stuff. So I'm looking for durable items.I currently live in NY.
    I've also bought a bora 95 pack(not lightweight !!!!) which may not fit with a light weight approach but given that I know how rough Indian buses and other modes of transport are I really don't want tears etc messing up my plans in the last minute.
    I'm looking for any and all suggestions !
    This is an example of gear list that I saw on a commercial trekking agency's site:

http://www.project-himalaya.com/jtreki-india-trek-gear-winter.html

treks:
    http://www.project-himalaya.com/india-treks-ladakhtrek-zanskartrek.html

René Enguehard
    BPL Member

@ahugenerd

Locale: Newfoundland

There are many different options for your to contend with. Let me start with sleeping bags.

You'll probably want a down sleeping bag as they compress well and are very light. You will obviously pay a premium for these but, in my opinon, they are very much worth it. Western Mountaineering and Montbell come to mind. Some people here will recommend quilts whereas others will recommend straight bags. That's really a personal decision: whatever you're most comfortable with.