Topic

Thru-Hikes: Finding the time, money, and right spouse…

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Thru-Hikes: Finding the time, money, and right spouse…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Jolly Green Giant
    BPL Member

@regultr

Locale: www.jolly-green-giant.blogspot.com

I'm an avid reader of several outdoor magazines, books, websites, etc., and do the best I can to get out as often as possible. They make my mind wander about all the things I'd like to do one of these days which includes some thru-hikes. Unfortunately, when I look at hiking the PCT, CDT or the AT, which are goals of mine – I have little choice but to acknowledge that it is quite literally impossible as a married man, father, and the responsible income-earner to stop working for 4 months and disappear into the great beyond without the the life I've earned and provided for my family quickly crumbling.

With that said, I've always wondered how people can find the time, money, and support to thru-hike some of the world's greatest places. Short of hitting the lottery, marrying rich, getting a workers comp claim from a stapler attack, or otherwise living in a tent full time, I can't for the life of me figure out how I can fit these in during a lifetime of so many years. Hiking them piece by piece a week at a time seems like such an exhaustive and inefficient method.

Are college students, retired people, the independently weathly, or people who hug trees full-time the only people who can accomplish thru-hikes?

I'm looking for suggestions, and yes, I'm open to being adopted into a wealthy family, and no, my wife isn't willing to live in a tent full-time.

Bob Bankhead
    BPL Member

@wandering_bob

Locale: Oregon, USA

The spouse problem is yours to solve.