Topic

Silnylon tent condensation?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Silnylon tent condensation?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Mike Barney

@eaglemb

Locale: AZ, the Great Southwest!

I’m wondering if condensation is a problem in silnylon tents. I have no experience with these, and was considering one for a trip to Philmont next summer.

Thanks,
    Mike

Pedro Arvy
    BPL Member

@pedroarvy

Locale: Melbourne

I have a lot of experience with Henry Shires tarptents so can comment on this one. Condensation can vary from none to extreme in these shelters. None when there is a good stiff wind blowing through the tent or the humidity is low; and extreme when the temperature is below the dew point or it is humid and there is little wind about.

At its worst, condensation can look like someone had sprayed a hose on the tent walls – almost dripping but not quite. However, if you are careful, and don’t touch the walls, the condensation is not really an issue. This is particularly true if you are in a one man tarp tent where you can position yourself exactly under the center of the structure and quite a distance from the walls.

When I first experienced extreme condensation it scared the willies out of me – mainly because I had never seen it before. Now I just put up with it as it really doesn’t affect the trip and does not justify a much heavier traditional shelter. My new sleeping bag has an Epic exterior to cope with condensation; the lighter materials aren’t adequate in my opinion although they are what I have been using for the past two years.

Mathieu Fagnan
    Spectator

@mfagnan

I have used a Stephenson 2R in a lot of different conditions.

My experiences are very similar to the precedent post.