Topic

Simmering with alcohol stove

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Simmering with alcohol stove

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Elliott Wolin
    BPL Member

@ewolin

Locale: Hampton Roads, Virginia

I have no experience using alcohol stoves, but am about to give it a try. For my birthday I'm getting a Caldera Ti-Tri for my MSR 0.85 liter pot. My question concerns simmering using the alcohol stove that comes with the Ti-Tri, since we (two of us) enjoy cooking and do not want to always eat freezer-bag style meals.

Can one block off some of the jets in the alcohol stove to get a lower heat but efficient burn? If so, how?

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

One approach is to cut a narrow band the circumference of the stove body, plus an inch, then slot the ends so they hook together into a ring. The band should be tight enough to stay above the vent holes, but loose enough to be Easily pushed down over them once the stove is hot and you’re ready to simmer. This works, but I find the stove still puts out too much heat.

Another approach is to use inverted muffin liners, with half of their bottoms removed. You get infinite adjustment by rotating the top tin. In the link below scroll down a bit to see an example.

Simmer Control

John G
    BPL Member

@johng10

Locale: Mid-Atlantic via Upstate NY

Some people also recommend using putting a lid from a tin can between the flame and pot bottom to act as "heat diffuser". Apparently this allows simmering without burning things to the bottom of the pan with an unaltered stove. The trade-off seems to be that you don't save any fuel with this technique.