Topic

hey quilters! Please help!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear hey quilters! Please help!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Matt Allen
    BPL Member

@zeroforhire

Ok… I am totally new to the world of making your own gear. I have very little experience sewing, so I figure that making a quilt will be a good little project for me.

I have pretty much settled on using synthetic insulation, and momentum fabric.

I have done a ton of research and searching, and I still need help. These are the things I am wanting it to accomplish.

-It needs to be light.
    -It needs to be big enough to wrap around my marmot hydrogen and not compress the down too much.
    -It can be in the 40-50 degree range, because I am willing to wear stuff under it.

If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it. I am mainly using it for mountaineering and climbing.

mark cole
    BPL Member

@marklivia

Go to Thru-hiker.com. Acye has all the stuff you need, he gives advice and has links to projects people have done.

Matt Allen
    BPL Member

@zeroforhire

thanks for the tips… I have checked out thru-hiker. It looks like they have a place that shows how to make a down quilt there, but not synthetic. I am sure I can figure this out… but I am having trouble figuring out the dimensions or width of the bag… and how to do the math to figure out the warmth and weight.

mark cole
    BPL Member

@marklivia

Again, either email or call Ayce. He knows all the answers to your questions.

mark henley

@flash582

Buy 5 yards of Momentum fabric from AYCE at Thru-hiker, and 3 yards of Momentum XP 2.5 ounce basis weight.

Fold the momentum in half widthwise, shiny side up, and lay it out on a freshly made bed. The fold will be the top of the quilt.