Topic

mummy sleeping bag…center zip?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) mummy sleeping bag…center zip?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Alex Heesch

@heescha

ok, i have a military surplus intermediate mummy sleeping bag and i love that thing so much!-my home away from home!

but, the darn thing is heavy, big, and bulky!!!

so, does anyone know of a mummy sleeping bag for a decent price…THAT HAS A CENTER ZIPPER! i want a center zipper just like my old sleeping bag…can anyone help me out?

Brian Markey
    BPL Member

@bmlaw

Locale: Northeast

The feathered friends rock wren has a center zipper. I have no experience with it, however. See it here: http://www.featheredfriends.com/Picasso/Bags/Specialty.html

John G
    BPL Member

@johng10

Locale: Mid-Atlantic via Upstate NY

Here's one solution to "big, bulky & heavy".

http://www.nunatakusa.com/site07/other_bags/alpinist.htm

I'm not sure it's what you'd call "reasonably priced", but the reviews of this manufacturers quilts & bags all seem to say what great quality and performance they have…

ps: Their ARC quilts are even more convenient than center zip bags if you don't thrash around in your sleep and cause drafts (or if you use a bivy to prevent the drafts).

Alex Heesch

@heescha

well, first of all, i use a hennessy hammock…if that matters much.

and secondly and most importantly…i'm an 18 year old kid headed off to college (yeah, sob story) and i have next to nothing for money already…i bought that military surplus bag for $30! i would need one heck of a deal on a used one! maybe i'll just have to suck it up, get a compression bag and carry it?

Steven Evans
    BPL Member

@steve_evans

Locale: Canada
    Jim Colten
    BPL Member

@jcolten

Locale: MN

Alex,

What's the coldest and warmest temp range you expect to encounter?