Topic

Backpacking on O’ahu: Waimano Trail

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Backpacking on O’ahu: Waimano Trail

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Charles Reneau

@charley289

Locale: Cascades and Oregon Coast Range

Hello all,
    I'm new to BPL, and this is my first Trip Report. For everyone who is tired of winter, and would like a little sun, here's a few words and photos that might lift your spirits.

I lived in Honolulu last year, and had the free time to sample about 25 different trails on O'ahu. Hiking in Hawaii is pretty different than what I was used to on the mainland, and it was a lot of fun. First off, several of the trails were created by the Civilian Conservation Corps back during the depression, others were created as part of large irrigation projects, a handful are ancient Hawaiian routes, and two were created by a legendary local bushwhacker, Richard Davis. Trail maintenance is usually less than is truly necessary, considering the ecological and geological challenges of trail building in the region: erosion prone volcanic soils, really wet weather in the mountains, and plant life that practically grows while you watch it! Flat trails seem to do okay, but if there's a steep grade, it's likely either eroded and in danger of washing away, or overgrown and in danger of disappearing.

A Potential mudslide on the Mau'mae Ridge trail (photo by E. Mathis).
    Potential mudslide on Mau'mae ridge trail.  Photo credit E. Mathis.

An overgrown section of the Mau'mae Ridge Trail (photo by E. Mathis).
    Overgrown trail, Mau'mae ridge.  Photo Credit E. Mathis.

Another fun part of hiking the mountains is the rope assisted sections! Sometimes the rope is old and rotting, sometimes I've even climbed up knotted computer cables.

Climbing Mt. Ka'ala (photo by E. Mathis).