Topic

opinion on wild things primaloft jacket vs. more ultralight ones ?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) opinion on wild things primaloft jacket vs. more ultralight ones ?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    rajesh kumar

@rajesh

Locale: Portland

I have a Marmot primaloft/ pertex trango jacket that I have been using since 1996. It weighs 20 ounces and has pit zips + neck cord but no hood. It has served me well including a ~1000 mile backpack in 2002 but getting pretty worn out and time to replace it.

This time I want something a bit lighter (10-15 ounce) so that I can also use it as my insulation for snowboarding in the cascades wintertime. In Oregon/ Washington,it doesn’t get cold enough to bother with heavy ones like Patagonia DAS. I liked the Marmot Flash (15 ounce) when I tried it on this summer but can’t find it anymore. I also tried the Patagonia micropuff which seems VERY good atleast in the store except I like full zipper on this piece.

The wild things primaloft sweater, both non hoodeed and hooded, seem to be reasonably lightweight and not too expensive but I can only get to them online.
    If anyone has used them, any opinions ?
    Thaks
    Rajesh

John Scott Lyons

@johnnyjump2

Hey, good question. The wild things sweater/jacket (no hood, 17 oz.) I’ve used (100+ days) the last two years @ the Cascades. This fall I got the Montbell Thermawrap (Exceloft, no hood, no pockets, wt.8oz.) and have used it already 30+ days. I love it. Plenty warm under a shell. With the wild things primaloft sweater it was too warm untill it got down to 15-20 F or so. Promountain sports.com carries both, even has a bunch of the wild things’ sweaters on sale. The thermawrap has the inside of the collar lined with micro fleece.

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77