Topic

Lightweight & Inexpensive – Philmont 2006

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Lightweight & Inexpensive – Philmont 2006

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Mike Barney

@eaglemb

Locale: AZ, the Great Southwest!

Hi, I’m new to BPL, and appreciate all the input in various threads.

We’re taking a crew to Philmont in June 2006. Several of our Scouts can’t afford to go out and purchase a $200 (or $100) tent, backpack, sleeping bag or other accessories.
    Their current weekend backpack weights are around 30 – 35 lbs, that’s pre-Philmont required gear. Their typical weights are a 4 – 6 lb pack, 5 – 6 lb sleeping bag, 5-8 lb 2 man tent, etc. Not a big deal for a 5 mile hike, but I understand this + crew gear, food and water may become a problem for a 50 – 65 mile journey.

While the 3 adults going can pick up some of the slack, we can’t pick it all up. So, I’m looking for cost-effective / weight effective suggestions, on how we can get their pack weights down, as well as taking some of the other 2006 Philmont thread suggestions of leaving much of the suggested (not mandatory) equipment behind.

By the way, could we use a 9 x 9 sheet of Tyvek (1 lb)to cover the packs instead of carrying the 4 lb Philmont tarp?
    Thanks in advance,
    Mike B

Jim Colten
    BPL Member

@jcolten

Locale: MN

This answer assumes the goal is lightweight rather than ultralight.

tyvek would work for a gear tarp but be warned, tyvek is *LOUD* in the wind.

If you have access to a few sewing machines you can save $$ by making some simple projects (stuff sacks, poncho, tarp, a sleeping quilt maybe)

thru-hiker is a good source of low cost silnylon and other materials.

Approx $40 of material and 2 hours of sewing would make a 9×10 silnylon tarp