Topic

BD MegaLite… anyone used this?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking BD MegaLite… anyone used this?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Ryan Gardner
    Spectator

@splproductions

I've never done snow camping before and am looking at the MegaLite (to be honest, primarily for cost reasons). Has anyone used this?

Al Shaver
    BPL Member

@al_t-tude

Locale: High Sierra and CA Central Coast

I've slept over 100 (sometimes very rainy) nights in the Megamid (the heavier fabric version) with great success. When the 1-1/2 lb (tent canopy only) Megalight came out I snatched one up and have spent ~20 nights in it with similar, albeit lighter, results.
    I tried out the GoLite Hex but found the hex shape to be much less efficient at packing bodies than the square footprint of the mids.
    Megalight comes with 1 oz trekking pole connector so you can leave the tent pole at home.

NOTES:
    0)A stick from the woods, ski pole, paddle or suspension from an overhanging tree branch will also erect the canopy.
    0)One person and a fully assembled bicycle leaned against the pole will fit inside.
    0)unlike my 2 vintage Megamids, the Megalight comes with a high vent which mitigates condensation. None the less, we affectionately refer to these devices as the "Sweat-a-Mid" and "Sweat-a-Lite". Staking through the 6" loops to raise the tent ~4" off the ground helps alot with condensation. I only only pin it close to the ground (on the windward side) in high winds.
    0) With 1-2 people I use my 14oz GoLite Cave 1. For 3-4 the MegaLite is my go to tent. On the Tahoe Rim Trail with Aaron Sorenson and Michael Popov we packed 4 sweaty guys (two in the 6'4" range) inside. That's 6oz of tent carrying load per person.