Topic

new and needing guidance

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion new and needing guidance

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Rob Mcrae

@emptyman

Locale: the other, big Ontario

OK. I’ve been reading and responding to some threads for a few weeks, trying to learn. But I have to admit at this point that I am LOST!!! I am new to UL, though not to camping, but it really is a whole new universe compared to what I have been doing with my grotesquely weighted pack. I have to say that the UL approach fits right in line with me, (as dedicated trail runner and solo camper) and I am excited about it, but don’t know where to start. Unfortunately, money is an issue for me, too. Is the new book by Ryan very good? It looks good, and i will get it. Basically, I would like a good intro. to UL camping. I know there is a long way to go, but general advice would be appreciated. Until then, I continue to surf the web and be mindboggled… Also, I live in Ontario, Canada. Any referrals up here would be appreciated as well. Thanks! This site is inspiring, to say the least!

Ron Moak

@rmoak

Rob,

A few weeks back I did a seminar on Ultralight to a bunch of novices. I put together a list of points that may help you to organize and simply your journey to an ultralight pack.

Good Luck!

6 Easy Steps to an Ultralight Pack

1. Get a Digital Scale and weigh All your gear. Make a Spreadsheet listing Every item you carry.

2. Get rid of unused gear.
    a) Make two piles of gear, in one pile place every item you used on your last backpacking trip.
    b) In the other pile, place everything you didn’t use.
    c) Put away the unused gear in storage.

3. Reduce the weight of your containers.