Topic

PCT pack choice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) PCT pack choice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Patrick Craddock

@pcraddock

I'm looking for a good pack choice for hiking the PCT. I'm new to light hiking, but I think I'll get down to a pretty small pack size. I'm using an alcohol stove, tarptent, and minimal gear.

I'm looking at packs such as the Golite packs, versus a minimalist internal frame such as the Vapor Trail by granite gear. Any thoughts?

thanks in advance

Jeffrey Loso
    BPL Member

@vagabon

Locale: Midwest

If you are looking to get a light weight pack check out http://www.ula-equipment.com . Brian makes wonderful packs that have a comfortable load transfer system yet are still quite light.

Dave T

@davet

Kathleen B

@rosierabbit

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Ditto Jeff's recommendation. I use a Relay for day trips and a Circuit for multi-day trips. They are excellent packs.

Mark Verber
    BPL Member

@verber

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

There are people who thru hike the PCT with a frameless pack. Personally I won't do it because there are section that you are likely going to need to be carrying at least 20-25lbs and that's more weight that many people can comfortably carrying in a frameless pack. If you haven't carried that sort of weight in a frameless pack for at least 15 miles… give it a shot before deciding in you are going to use a frameless pack on the PCT.

My recommendation is to carry the extra 6-20oz and go with a pack that has some sort of frame. I would recommend the Vapor Trail, but there are a lot of nice choices from Six Moon Designs, Gossamer Gear, ULA, etc. I have a list of my experiences with light packs