Topic

Wolf prevention

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 104 total)
  • Author
    David Lorenz
    BPL Member

@nuclearwinter

Locale: Northern Utah

Greetings! I am new to BPL and didn't find much in the forums about encounting Wolves while backpacking Wyoming and Montana. My intrigue in this topic is due to the increasing population of wolves in many areas around public areas. A year ago as I overnighted in Glacier I followed strict bear prevention practices, but never considered wolves as potential visitors. In the morning I saw a "lone" wolf walking alone the jeep trail. Do any of you who frequently hike WY and MT take any additional prevention measures? Have you ever used bear spray? Just curious…. Dave

Kelly G
    BPL Member

@kellydt

Thanks for thinking to post this question. Wolves have recently entered Oregon so are now on my radar. They were no issue in my earlier years of outdoor life. I look forward to others' advice. Kelly

Jesse Hutchinson
    Spectator

@hutchy

I dont know how wild your wolves are, but here they are hunted and trapped, and like bears, a wolf that is scared of people is a wolf that will not cause trouble… WOlves are something cool you listen to at night, not something to be even remotely afraid of, IMO. Coyotes are a bigger concern, just because they acclimate to people fast. Coyotes are always trying to eat chickens, peoples dogs, etc. Every wolf I have seen out in the bush, and there have been many wanted absolutely nothing to do with me. Again, I dont know about your area, but I wouldnt worry too much.

Dave @ Oware
    BPL Member

@bivysack-com

Locale: East Washington