Topic

PCT Gear List & Backpack Advice!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists PCT Gear List & Backpack Advice!

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    C S
    Spectator

@caitlinlea

Hello! I would LOVE it if some of you experienced people would be kind enough to pick apart my gear choices and scan a trained eye over what I’ve come up with. Most of all I need help choosing a backpack. I’ve done a huge amount of research online and have a short list but would really love some advice.

A bit about me: 5’2” female, 110 lbs. I am relatively new to thru-hiking and am planning a couple of shorter trips this summer (the Tahoe Rim Trail and a week on the PCT in my home state of Oregon, as well as a few 2-3 night trips in Colorado, where I now live). I am planning on a 2016 thru-hike of the entire PCT and am trying to get my gear together so I can test it out on my trips this summer and tweak as needed.

While I’m somewhat new to thru-hiking, I'm an experienced ultrarunner and do lots of fastpacking. I am very accustomed to hiking/running 40-50+ miles/day over varying terrain and for years I lived and trained outside a small town at the foot of the Indian Peaks in Colorado at 9000 feet. Last summer I moved back down to Boulder, which is where I now live. I’ve run lots of long-distance trails that many people do as thru-hikes, and I’m used to carrying some weight with me while I do this, but generally not more than 15 lbs at most, so I realize this is going to be different!