Topic

What is needed for summiting 14’ers when snow is around?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism What is needed for summiting 14’ers when snow is around?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Steve Schmid
    BPL Member

@thegreatunwashed

Outside of a little snow we caught in late September on a Mt Russell hike, I have no experience summiting 14'ers when the potential for snow is involved. I'd like to take my brother out to do Mt Langley as early as May to knock out a 14er before our September Williamson/Tyndall hike.

Outside of your 3 season gear list, what do we need to bring to account for any snow that is still lingering around? Is it just crampons?

Billy Ray
    Spectator

@rosyfinch

Locale: the mountains

Depends. If there has been no new snow for a month and it is May then crampons and ice axe. If there is new snow you could need something for flotation, like skis or snow shoes. But if it is steep and there is new snow in the past week or so and you don't have experience you had best stay away due to potential avalanche danger.

The above also depend on the aspect of the slope. Southern slopes get more sun and are less likely to have snow and the snow that it gets will settle down is less time. North and Northeast slopes will be more likely to have snow and it will take longer for the snow to settle down after a storm.

So a lot will depend on the weather between now an whenever you go.

Billy

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

It depends on the route that you intend to take.