Topic

Philmont Cooking Technique

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Scouting Philmont Philmont Cooking Technique

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Jamie Barnes
    BPL Member

@jbarnes215

I've never been to Philmont. Have talked to several who have, read forums and trip reports, etc. etc. We are planning a 2017 Philmont trip. Starting to think/plan/gear update, etc. One of my things I'm trying to figure out is how to use a dinner re-hydration method that doesn't involve hauling an 8 Qt pot. I guess I'm set in my ways. I've been backpacking for 15+ years off and on and the individual backpacking meals that only require two cups of boiling water put in the pouch and my jetboil stove have worked great for years. I realize that using those meals probably isn't cost effective for that many folks going through Philmont each year. I also realize there's a huge difference in planning a few day trip where I'm responsible for myself for meals vs. 20,000+ people per year going to Philmont. So I'm trying to have an understanding with this. I've read one cooking method here that sounds like it will be much easier especially for cleanup. http://www.csm.ornl.gov/~geist/Philmont/Efficient-Philmont-Food-Prep.pdf. I'm sure most of you have seen/tried that with the "meal cozies". I wanted to see what Philmont officially thought of this and this is the response I received from the chief ranger:

I have seen this cooking system before and there are a few concerns related to it:
    • The food packets are not made to handle the heat from the boiling water, causing harmful chemicals to be released into the food. Some dehydrated meal companies have packaging that can be used to re-hydrate in, however, Philmont does not buy this packaging due to its higher cost.