Topic

Why am I cold with an underquilt?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Hammock Camping Why am I cold with an underquilt?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Jenny A
    BPL Member

@jennifera

Locale: Front Range

I am new to hammock camping and spent my first night outside last night, 41 degrees with a 20 degree underquilt, no wind, but I was chilly.  Had a 30 degree quilt on top, but I could definitely feel cold on my underside.  I snugged the underquilt tight on both ends of the hammock, which helped a little, but at 7 a.m. I dragged into the house to warm up.  I’d like to get this dialed before taking the system to the high country.

I am using a Western Mountaineering SlingLite 20 degree underquilt.  It is 3/4 length and tapered at both ends.  Coverage seems fine, but I’m just wondering if I am missing some critical thing.  BTW, I did sleep really well, and my back wasn’t stiff in the morning, a big WIN!

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx

I’m not a level 19 hangwizard but I’m under the impression that the two most likely causes would be either there is an air leak or you are over-compressing the UQ. I’d recommend having someone help you out while you are laying in a sleeping position to see if either of these conditions might be happening. It’s hard to feel around for it yourself without moving out of the sleeping position. You want it to fit snugly but not too tight.

Kevin Babione
    BPL Member

@kbabione

Locale: Pennsylvania

Matt’s right, except that I don’t think it’s possible to over-compress the UQ.  Even stretched fully it should be able loft to its maximum amount because there’s nothing to compress it.  A couple of questions: