Topic

Suggestions for Zpacks hip belt mod?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Suggestions for Zpacks hip belt mod?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Cal
    BPL Member

@7cal7

Locale: earth

Hi all. I’ve got the arc haul and love it except for one thing, not enough padding for me personally on the hip belt. Specifically I’d like it to be wider and thicker, like on my ULA ohm. If I could somehow have the ULAs shoulder straps and hip belt on the arc haul the world would be right. I’ve considered cannibalizing the ohm and somehow sewing them on the arc but I have no sewing experience and hate the thought of destroying the ohm. I’ve bought the extra padding zpacks offers but it’s still not enough. I see online it’s a simple fix for the shoulder straps, lots of add on choices for wider/thicker slip on padding, but I’m wondering if anyone has experience/suggestions for the zpacks hip belt. The goal is to have a wider, thicker belt for better weight distribution. Thx much,

cal

Dan
    BPL Member

@dan-s

Locale: Colorado

Unfortunately, I don’t have a specific suggestion for you, but I’m wondering how much weight you’re trying to carry with it. The Arc packs are definitely not going to be comfortable above a certain limit.

Cal
    BPL Member

@7cal7

Agreed. I keep the weight to not more than 30lbs, usually less, which falls within specs for the arc. The problem is more anatomical. I’ve got some funky hip bones and any thinner belt on any pack has been uncomfortable. I would just go with a ULA but I really like the breezeway the arc creates on my back since I tend to sweat more than most. Thx

Bonzo
    BPL Member

@bon-zo

Locale: Virgo Supercluster