Topic

L5-S1 laminectomy done 30 years back: HOW TO CHOOSE A BACKPACK?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) L5-S1 laminectomy done 30 years back: HOW TO CHOOSE A BACKPACK?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Siddhartha S
    BPL Member

@sidhere

Hi

I’m Sid, completely new here

I need to know how to choose my backpack so that it does not touch or affect my lower spinal column AT ALL.

(Since I am a writer, I would most probably need to carry my laptop although I am considering using a tab + keyboard + hard drive but haven’t figured it out yet.)

A little bit of my background below:

I am about to be 60 (about to retire from a 10 to 5 job) and

intend to go on a backpacking journey through S E Asia around June this year,

and extend it to Europe & US during winter this year

I had a laminectomy operation on my spine, L5-S1, 30 yearrs back but some problem appears every 10 years and I have to go for an MRI and get on with medication. The next 10 year mark is approaching in 2025.

Otherwise I am completely fine.

I am 6 ft 2 in tall, pretty lean and thin, not an athletic type at all but I am fine and fit.

I need to know how to choose a backpack that will not touch or affect my spine and be on the shoulders and the hips and carry everything.

I would like to travel with a single backpack. Is it possible to do? I am still trying to figure out.

I would be glad if one of you could guide me

thanks a lot

Sid

Geoff Caplan
    BPL Member

@geoffcaplan

Locale: Lake District, Cumbria

For anyone with back issues, it’s well worth checking out the Aarn Bodypacks. The company is based in NZ but they have agents in the US and Europe.