Topic

Intermittent Fasting

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Intermittent Fasting

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    Michael Sirofchuck
    BPL Member

@mr_squishy

Locale: Great Wet North

I have been doing Intermittent Fasting (the 16-8) method for six months and have lost about 15 pounds.  I find that I do not need to eat breakfast before a long day hike – I’ve done hikes up to 14 miles and 2K AEG, starting early in the morning and not eating anything before 2 pm or even later.  I drink plenty of water.  I don’t feel that my energy level is lacking with this approach.  Anyone else out there doing IF?

Note:  I have not tried IF while backpacking.

Kattt
    BPL Member

@kattt

I have been doing it for almost two months now, with an off week around Thanksgiving. I have not backpacked while doing this and I usually eat many tiny meals when I hike so that’d be quite different.
    It makes sense to me, to take longer breaks from eating. Some days are definitively easier than others …

Brian W
    BPL Member

@empedocles

I did a 24 hour fast yesterday. I usually do one 24 hour fast each week for November and December due to the holidays. The rest of the year I do 16/8 by skipping breakfast.

I had bad acid reflux and the 16/8 fast was preferable over the meds they wanted me on.

John Vance
    BPL Member

@servingko

Locale: Intermountain West

I have been on a low carb intermittent fasting diet for nearly 20 years.  I too, have no problem hiking on an empty stomach through the morning and into afternoon.

For recreational/vacation backpacking – for me that means 12 days or less – it works fine and I lose some weight. Anything longer in duration or high intensity like 25+ miles day after day and/or big daily elevation gains/losses, I eat many small “meals” and more calories as well.