Topic

Increase frame stay stiffness – width or thickness?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Increase frame stay stiffness – width or thickness?

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Chris L
    BPL Member

@thechrislundy

Locale: Idaho

I’m currently using .5” wide by .125” thick 7075 aluminum flat bar stays for a MYOG backpack. Like typical frame stays, they contour to the shape of my back with the wider axis flat against my back. I’d like to increase their stiffness so they flex less under heavier weight

I’m embarrassed to ask this since once upon a time I graduated with a degree in engineering, but should I increase the width to .625” or the thickness to .16” (those are the next options up)? My gut tells me to increase the thickness, but maybe either increase would produce the same result?

Jon Fong / Flat Cat Gear
    BPL Member

@jonfong

Locale: FLAT CAT GEAR

You need to increase to Moment of Inertia. Fundamentally a function of the base * height cubed.  So the best band for the buck is to increase the thickness and not the base.  My 2 cents.

Mike B
    BPL Member

@highwarlok

Locale: Colorado

Thickness, Increase the material in the direction of the deformation.

Chris L
    BPL Member

@thechrislundy

Thanks gentlemen!

Brian T
    BPL Member

@whynotlighter

It might not be a reasonable point to make, depending on your setup, but you’d get a lot more stiffness with a different shape than flat bar.
    For example you could run a carbon tube from hipbelt to the top of the harness outside where your back contacts the pack and gain a lot of load stabilization for just a few grams. can you post pictures of your application? we might be able to help you accomplish your goal another way.

Chris L
    BPL Member

@thechrislundy