Topic

DIY/MYOG Cuben Fiber (DCF) "Sierra" Backpack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear DIY/MYOG Cuben Fiber (DCF) "Sierra" Backpack

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Cory ONeill
    Spectator

@cjoneill

Locale: Central Oregon

I have been a professional wilderness photographer and High Sierra guide for 25 years, and have used just about every possible pack design to get me and my gear in and out of the backcountry.  Twelve years ago, I designed and constructed my first  UL silnylon tent – and got so frustrated with the experience that I vowed never to make my own gear again!

Fast forward a decade or so later, and with the advent of cuben fiber (or Dyneema Composite Fabric, CF from here on), I started dreaming of making my own gear again.  This time, however, I ditched the old JCPenny home sewing machine, picked up for cheap a like-new Thompson Mini-walking machine, studied how to sew basic seams, found every photo and post I could about sewing packs with CF, carefully considered not just “what” I wanted, but “how” I would make it, and decided early on to go slow and do it right.  The end results?  A great, ultralight, “Sierra” specific custom pack.

I generally carry about 25 – 27 lbs for a week in the Sierras, which includes almost 5 lbs of camera gear.  I decided 30lbs was my target capacity.  I hoped to end up with a pack that was no more than 24 oz total (similar to the Zpacks Arc Blast that I would have purchased).  Lastly, the pack volume needed to be close to 50 L, the volume of all of my gear total when loaded into my current ULA Catalyst.