Topic

4 Pass Loop on Maroon Bells – A couple of questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning 4 Pass Loop on Maroon Bells – A couple of questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Ben C
    BPL Member

@alexdrewreed

Locale: Kentucky

I am planning on doing the 4 Pass Loop of the Maroon Bells June 29-July 1 this summer with my 16 year old son.
    I have a 30 degree EE quilt for me and a Montbell SS #3 for him. Does this sound warm enough?
    Also, I plan to sleep under a trailstar with him. Any thoughts on the mosquito situation that time of year?
    Thanks in advance.

Ted E
    BPL Member

@mtn_nut

Locale: Morrison, CO

30 degree bags should be warm enough as long as the weather is decent. it can snow anytime of the year, but it should be warm enough by then. if either of you run cold normally, a 20 degree bag might be a better choice. I run warm, so i would probably need to vent my 30* bag if the weather was good.

I wrote a bit about the 4 pass loop in issue 13 of TrailGroove if you're interested in reading about it. Its more photos than writing though.

http://www.trailgroove.com/issue13.html?autoflip=87

P.S. There is a really nice spot at 39.097341,-107.059097, and another spot just up the trail by a small pond, south of trail rider pass. However, those would be bad spots to be at during a thunderstorm. Might also be a bit less buggy than the sites along the north fork of the crystal river. Also, there is some damage to sites around crater lake from avalanche debris, so take that into account.

Ben C
    BPL Member

@alexdrewreed

Thanks Ted. I have already looked at your write up on Trail Groove. Its really an enjoyable publication all around. Thanks for the advice.

Ted E
    BPL Member

@mtn_nut

Thanks, I'm glad it was useful.