Topic

Where to buy Pertex Quantum… or the equivalent of…

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Where to buy Pertex Quantum… or the equivalent of…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Ryan Gardner
    Spectator

@splproductions

I'm completely new to the whole MYOG thing. I want to make a bivy sack – I'm thinking sil-nylon floor with Pertex Quantum top (i.e. BMW Vapr). Where can you buy Pertex Quantum? Is there another fabric that is equally breathable? I'd be under a poncho-tarp and need some protection from rain spray.

Any help or patterns on a MYO bivy sack would be helpful!

Adam Rothermich
    BPL Member

@aroth87

Locale: Missouri Ozarks

You can get Momentum90 from thru-hiker.com. Everything I've read shows that it performs as well or better than Pertex Quantum in breathability and waterproofness.
    I've been contemplating a bivy too and was planning on using Momentum for it. Depending on the price and availability of Pertex Quantum I could be persuaded to change my mind though. I haven't seen it anywhere online, but then again I haven't specifically looked for it either.

Adam

Michael Davis

@mad777

Locale: South Florida

I'll second the vote for Momentum90 from thru-hiker.

I own a genuine Pertex Quantum windshirt and I have MYOG using the Momentum90. IMHO both are comparable.

Sharon Bingham
    BPL Member

@cowboisgirl-2

Locale: Southwest

I have no personal experience with Pertex or the PERFORMANCE of either fabric, but I DID read this website the other day, and they HAVE compared the two fabrics (about 3/4 of the way down the page on my screen):

http://www.mountainlaureldesigns.com/fabric.php

Also, if you're still interested in Pertex, this online vendor has some:

http://www.justmakeit.com/fabrics/water_repell/index.html