Topic

Any bowhunters here?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Other Activities Any bowhunters here?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 33 total)
  • Author
    W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

Specifically small game and/or upland game birds?
    I'm transitioning from rifle/shotgun to archery and have some questions….

Thanks.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Just wanted to say that i also will be watching and interested in this thread. I have a compound bow that i practice shooting sometimes (not hunting yet, but will eventually), but i'm still very much a complete newbie/novice (and certainly can't give any advice worth anything, other than "no mind" when drawing/releasing ;) ).

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

Tree rats are delicious. Trust me on this. It's not weird in other parts of the country,

Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

I don't know much about tree rats but I'm careful of rodents in general. One survival expert published articles about how to trap and eat rats then learned about some nasty diseases that cooking won't kill and published a big disclaimer.

I'll be interested to see what you learn Craig. I've enjoyed archery in the past but only as a target sport. I never did much small game hunting but I like the idea for a backpacker.

W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

I'm sure tree rats are delicious but rodents are also a major plague carrier in Southern CA and much of the southwestern US. Squirrel is closed year-round in So. CA because of this.

I'm looking to go a little higher up the food chain for game animals and target cottontail, jacks, quail, and chukar. I'm hopefully going to mix a little hunting with an overnight this weekend but will be using a .22LR or shotgun until I can get a few arrow and point questions sorted out.

Stephen Barber