Topic

Bear bag hanging rope suitable for pack hauling?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Administration & Support Website & Forum Support Bear bag hanging rope suitable for pack hauling?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Chris Jackson

@chris_jackson

My bear-bag rope serves double duty for pack-hauling on short sections of semi-technical terrain (3rd/4th class). Are either of the BPL bear ropes suitable for this?

The pack can get pretty heavy on a 2 week trip, and I'm wondering whether the BPL ropes are strong enough or thick enough for pack-hauling. My defunct rope is 0.15 diameter nylon and eventually weakened from abrasion.

Stephen Eggleston

@happycamper

Locale: South Bayish

I am no expert at pack hauling but I think the main limitation of the bearbagging ropes available on this site would be abrasion resistance because of their small diameter and tendency to 'saw' against things. Their diameter and 'slipperyness' can make knot tying and tightening difficult but a fixed caribiner can remedy that. The breaking strength of the AirCore Pro URSA is 1400 lb.

Check out this info: http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/aircore_pro_ursa_bear_bag_hanging_rope.html

And this: http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/aircore_pro_ursalite_bear_bag_hanging_cord.html

Chris Jackson

@chris_jackson

Stephen, the small diameter is a concern. As you say, thinner ropes tend to abrade much faster than thicker ropes. On the other hand, these bear-ropes are designed to slide over tree branches rather than cutting into them, so perhaps the slipperiness will reduce abrasion? Still, I'd like to hear of actual users experience pack-hauling with these ropes before shelling out the $'s. Spectra is a lot pricier than nylon!

Rick Dreher
    BPL Member

@halfturbo

Locale: Northernish California