Topic

What to add to / improve in my arsenal for 3 season hiking?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists What to add to / improve in my arsenal for 3 season hiking?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Can Am

@canam

I'm relatively new to backpacking and brand new to lightweight backpacking. I did a decent amount of backpacking with my dad until 7th or 8th grade when I decided to focus more on team sports. Since college, I've stuck to day hikes because I was somewhat intimidated by the cost of getting new gear and the learning curve. However, I finally decided to take the plunge and have been planning a 2 month AT section hike with my wife that I'll start in a couple of weeks. Reading through threads on these forums has been a huge help and I signed up for an annual membership.

My gear for that trip is pretty much set. However, I plan on making this a regular hobby going forward and would appreciate thoughts on what I could add to my gear collection so I have things to put on my birthday/Christmas/etc wishlists. Looking for ideas not just to replace what's in my current kit, but good ideas to make my kit more versatile for different types of trips. I'm moving to Australia soon, so will have opportunities for trips in many types of environments.

Shelter and sleeping
    Tarptent Double Rainbow – 42 oz
    Enlightened Revolution 20F quilt – 22 oz
    Thermarest Prolite Reg – 16 oz

Pack and organization
    ULA Circuit – 38.6 oz
    Sea to Summit 35L dry sack (food bag for 2) – 1.6 oz
    Sea to Summit 8L dry sack (for clothes) – 0.8 oz

Worn clothing
    Icebreaker 150 LS – 5.5oz
    Mountain Hardware Mesa convertible pants – 16 oz
    Icebreaker Hike Lite mini socks – 2.13 oz
    Exofficio underwear – 3 oz
    Merrill Moab Ventilator lowcut shoes – 31 oz
    Black Diamond Trail Back alum poles – 20 oz