Topic

Tarp Configuration

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Tarp Configuration

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Ryan S.

@badscooter

Locale: New England

Stumbled across this brief blog post the other day. I'm relatively new to UL Backpacking and this website but I was wondering what experience people might have sleeping in a tarp setup pitched in a similar Lean-to style. Thoughts?

http://americanbushman.blogspot.com/2007/10/hybrid-lean-toa-frame.html

John Donewar
    BPL Member

@newton

Locale: Southeastern Texas

R S,

IMHO Brawny's set-up is a better configuration. There is less exposure to rain getting into your "living space".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ir-5R9PCIok

She uses a 10 x 12 silnylon tarp with tie outs spaced at 2 foot intervals. Her set-up resembles a "monk" tarp but has the added benefit of a 4 foot floor inside.

I also like the simple way that she deals with the issue of flying bugs. ;-)

As with any tarp set-up you must avoid low spots, pay attention to wind direction and use natural wind breaks as much as possible.

Reducing the "area" that faces into the wind will help keep your tarp from turning into a runaway kite. That is a concern that I have in regards to the tarp configuration in the provided link to the American Bushman site in your OP.

Party On,

Newton

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes