Topic

Considering a GG Gorilla, but afraid to give up my osprey frame…

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Considering a GG Gorilla, but afraid to give up my osprey frame…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator

@jenmitol

Locale: In my dreams....

I'm relatively new to going UL…I've gone from an 8# Gregory pack and 9# REI tent through several incarnations of my kit… Lighter REI tent, Big Agnes UL…now hexamid cuben fiber solo-plus (that I can't stop drooling over!)

I've gone from that massive Gregory to an Osprey Atmos 65 to an Osprey exos 46…and now I'm finding myself drooling over the Gorilla.

However…I've never had a frameless pack before ( does it carry like a frameless if it has an aluminum stay?) and I've kind of been skeptical of them.

Obviously I need to just order it and try it out, see if I like it. But I'm dropping a lot of cash on gear these days and I'm not all that keen on a $225 experiment.

Those of you who have made the switch…do you like it or just deal with it because it's so much lighter? What do you like about the frameless? Does it still carry on your hips, or more on your shoulders?

Convince me one way or the other to shave another pound+ off my base and go Gorilla…or stick with my exos that I really do like…

Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

If you want convincing one way or the other I'd start with the SOTM report on frameless packs. Will Rietvelt also reviewed the latest version of the Gorilla on his blog a while back.