Topic

water treatment

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking water treatment

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    tyler mahaffey

@tdmahaf

im new to winter backpacking, but I was curious about how most winter backpackers treat their water, with the most lightweight method.

Also, I'm curious as to what kind of clothing most winter backpackers use? Do they use typical ski coats and pants or go lighter with long underwear underneath hoodies and wind-breakers?

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

You really need to state where you operate. I go ski camping where the snow is 5-10 feet deep. As a general rule, we need to melt snow to make drinking water, and clean snow is clean enough to drink as water. If you operate where there is no reliable snow, then go to Plan B.

Clothing is too broad of a subject to treat lightly here. There is no such thing as a typical ski coat.

Have you taken a winter camping class? Classes tend to cover all of these things over the course of hours.

–B.G.–

tyler mahaffey

@tdmahaf

i am looking to do winter camping in the front range of colorado near the front range area.

im new to winter camping and am just looking for a general FAQ on how to get started with the lightest gear possible.

if anything, i need a list of the do's and don'ts.

Andy F
    Spectator

@andyf

Locale: Midwest/Midatlantic

I drink melted snow for water when running water isn't accessible due to being frozen or under deep snow. Otherwise, I either carefully drink untreated water from streams or use a Steripen. Filters will freeze up, which causes them to crack and not filter out pathogens, often with no indication of any problem.