Topic

Glacier or Yellowstone?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Peter Sustr
    BPL Member

@czechxpress

Locale: Boulder

I'm planning on doing a 6 day backpacking trip June 30- July 7th after I do some work stuff in Bozeman and Missoula but, I can't decide on Yellowstone or Glacier?

Which one you think is best for isolation & a 6 day loop?

Any insight would be great!

Ryan Tucker
    BPL Member

@beartoothtucker

i am not an expert but i guess it would depend on what you are looking for…i do believe a relatively uncrowded spot can be had in either area. peaks? wildlife? fishing?

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec

Locale: Queen City, MT

What Ryan said. Also, mileage desired?

Generally, early July is the leading edge of prime backpacking season in both places. Permits should be workable for most any route. There should still be some snow in high places, but most routes will likely be passable without an axe. River crossings will be a concern (more a factor in Yellowstone). Bugs could be quite bad. Going-to-the-Sun road in Glacier should almost surely be open.

The classic northern circle in Glacier should be quite good that time of year. Highline Trail north, over Stoney Indian Pass, up to Elizabeth Lake, over either Red Gap Pass or through Ptarmigan Tunnel (which might not be open), then either Swiftcurrent or Siyeh Pass. The later could be extended south over Gunsight Pass, though that route might well call for an axe. None of the creek crossings should be especially problematic.