Topic

Need trekking pole advice…have it narrowed down to two

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Need trekking pole advice…have it narrowed down to two

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    lisa m

@boulderhiker

Locale: Colorado

I'm fairly new to trekking poles. I purchased a really crappy pair of Leki on a whim while at Yosemite 5 years ago…they cause intense vibration through my hands and arms while hiking through the rocky hills of Boulder.

I will be using the poles primarily to reduce strain on my knees as the ascents here can be pretty steep and rocky. They will be used primarily for light-load (5 to 10lbs) dayhiking, maybe 15-20 miles max at a time, sometimes fast-paced, and again on rocky terrain. It gets pretty hot here in CO during the summers, so I am thinking cork handles? And then I am also drawn to carbon hoping that it will reduce vibration, but wonder if they can withstand 15 to 20 miles at a time. And perhaps that in addition to sweat reduction, the cork or cork composite (Leki) handles might offer some form of insulation.

So I have two in mind:

Black Diamond Alpine Carbon Cork Poles
    http://www.blackdiamondequipment.com/en-us/shop/mountain/trekking-poles/alpine-carbon-cork-trekking-pole/

and

Leki Corklite Aergon SpeedLock Trekking Poles
    http://www.leki.com/trekking/trekkingPole.php?pID=93

Thank you for any help you can offer in my decision making.

(oh, I would also like the poles to have the ability to transition to winter hiking/snowshoeing poles)

Chad “Stick” Poindexter
    BPL Member

@stick

Locale: Southeast USA

FYI: In Andrew Skurka's new book, he claims that the BD poles you have linked to are his current favorites… He says that they are "the best combination of weight, stiffness, and lock reliability." So, that has got to say something there…