Topic

How to get all the things of a Trangia I like but just smaller and lighter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) How to get all the things of a Trangia I like but just smaller and lighter

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Nigel Healy

@nigelhealy

Locale: San Francisco bay area

I'm a 30-year veteran Trangia user, and I've progressively replaced my camping gear with lighter backpack, tent, sleeping mat, sleeping bag. %he main piece of large heavy kit I still have is my Trangia, the smaller 27 size. I've watched others with alternative stoves and I think I know what I want and what I don't want, but I am totally confused from all the online options available. Help!

Here's what I like and I'd miss from a Trangia:

– two large nestled pots, about 1L in size. I make "real" food using whatever is at home, or from stores, mixing it with some more camping-type dried food. Any smaller and I just spill over the sides as I stir. I might be able to get down to 900ml type size but simply more risk of food being falling outside the pan

– stirring the food as I cook, I do stuff like porridge oats and stir as I bring it to the boil, so I like wide pans

– eat one thing as I cook another, again 2 pans

– keep one dish warm as I cook another, the trick of cooking one dish in the wider pot then place ontop of the narrower pot. Chicken curry and rice is a good example.

– I use the frying pan lid as a method to keep the food inside warm, keep insects and grass out and to have something to put a pot on which isn't grass.

– eating out of the pots, using them as bowls

– the pot grips, so I can hold a pot I've just cooked in as my bowl, and using 2 pots

– I like the stability of the total package, its very hard to knock over, the wide base is rigid